Dancing with the Stars

Marisol Martinez, Reporter

Ready for some more Jazz, Jives, and Jitterbugs? Dancing with the Stars returned on Monday, September 18th for its 25th season with new contestants, old, new and returning pros. Contestants like Victoria Arien, Nikki Bella, Barbara Corcoran, Derek Fisher, Jordan Fisher, Debbie Gibson, Nick Lachey, Vanessa Lachey, Frankie Muniz, Terrel Owens, Sasha Pieterse, Drew Scott, and Lindsey Sterling. Nick and Vanessa Lachey are the 2nd married couple to compete against each other on Dancing with the Stars, the first was Carlos and Alexa Penavega who competed on season 21. Returning pros from last season include Val Chmerkovskiy, Artem Chigvintsev, Keo Motsepe, Sharna Burgess, Lindsey Arnold, Peta Murgatroyd, Maks Chmerkovskiy, Witney Carson, Gleb Savchenko, and current mirror ball champion Emma Slater.

Cheryl Burke and Mark Ballas are also returning as pros after being gone a few seasons and Alan Berstan will be a pro as well, it’s his first season as a pro and not a troupe dancer or fill-in. This season’s judges will be Carri Ann Inaba, Len Goodman, and Bruno Tonioli. Julianne Hough will not be returning as a judge this season. Tom Burton and Erin Sanders will remain the hosts for the show. During week one of the competition, the couples show off what they’ve been learning/teaching for the past month or so.  The styles of dance for week one include, cha-cha-cha, tango, salsa, and foxtrot. The highest scoring couples for week one were Jordan Fisher with his partner Lindsay Arnold and Lindsey Sterling with her partner Mark Ballas, the two couples tied in first with the score of 22 out of 30.

On the second week of competition, there will be a two-day elimination. That means the couple with the lowest combined judges scores and viewer votes will be eliminated on Monday and another couple will be eliminated on Tuesday. There are three ways to vote for your favorite couples, you can go online to dwtsvote.abc.go.com, call their team number or vote on Facebook when you go to the Dancing with the stars vote facebook page. Voting remains open for one hour after the show ends in your time zone. There is also now a DWTS Fantasy League, you can vote on who you think will be crowned the mirror ball champion. Dancing with the Stars comes on ABC on Mondays at 7. Tune in every week to see the remaining couples dance to compete for the mirror ball.